Review: Firstlife

25785357Series: Everlife Series #1

Rating: ★★★★★

TROIKA OR MYRIAD!?

Honestly I feel like this series is going to usher in a new round of those weird Facebook personality tests, you know the ones, “Which realm would you choose?” or “What your realm says about you?”.

Overall I really liked this book. I almost thought I was going to put it down when I started it. A lot of the plot twists and things that happened were pretty obvious to spot, but somehow I just couldn’t bring myself to put the book down. It was the characters that really kept me reading. Showalter has a way of writing very compelling characters. Even when I didn’t particularly like their choices or actions, I still wanted to find out more about them, even if I didn’t really care about the rest of the plot. It’s not that the plot was boring, per se, it was just less of a factor because it was pretty simple to figure out.

The humor was absolutely my favorite part of this book. Witty, sharp and charming (although sometimes it could cross the line into a bit crude) the humor kept the darker tone from taking over and completely ruining the personalities of the characters. Tenley was by far the most well-rounded and she had me rolling in laughter several times over; Archer a close second, he stole my heart early on and I’m still not over the ending; and then of course Killian following up in third, but I’m sure we’ll find out more about him in the later books.

This book is definitely worth a read and I’m sure I’ll be back for the next installment, especially considering how much I laughed (multiple times) and cried while reading it.

One thought on “Review: Firstlife

Leave a Reply

