Review: November Snow

28459694
Title: November Snow
Series: Bad Bloods #2
Author: Shannon A. Thompson
Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction
Links: Goodreads / Amazon / B&N / Book Depository

Synopsis: When Daniel and Serena unite, their accidental relationship becomes the catalyst for a twelve-year war to continue. Exposing the twisted past of a corrupt city, Daniel, Serena, and everyone they know will come together to fight. But Serena has another battle. After a political rumor threatens their lives, Serena must leave her family and join the political front against her will. To survive apart, Daniel has to separate his love from his hatred and join forces with his worst memory to secure Vendona’s war. But very few of them will survive to see the last day. Bad blood or human, a city will burn, snow will fall, and all will be united by catastrophic secrets and irrevocable tragedy.

Rating: ★★★★
Review:

“He told her about her soul, and she told him about her dreams and stories. And everything began to unravel from there.”

Just a heads up that this review contains spoilers, marked with *spoilers*.

Wow, just…wow 😵. Miss Thompson, you were absolutely right that I would enjoy this second part more than the first. Almost immediately heading into this second half I was completely sucked in.

The world was built up and explained to a fuller degree and I was able to understand everything much better so that it was easier to just settle into the story and enjoy everything that was happening. It was nice to get to see other places like The Highlands and to understand exactly how these places came about as well as the power structure and that the book is revolving more around a science fiction / evolutionary concept. This helped move along the plot well and opened up the narrative for more explanation about Vendona as a whole, which was a nice addition.

I was so excited that the pace picked up considerably and didn’t really slow down except for small beats here and there. The action was much more pronounced and you finally get a real sense of the danger and peril that these kids are facing. Of course, I was almost sobbing during some of the chapters, and don’t think I’ll ever get over some of the deaths that happen. Yes, some of the characters do die, so just prepare yourself with tissues and a cuddly stuffed animal😫.

Speaking of stuffed animal, Blake and Daniel (and teddy bear), that dynamic was the sweetest thing on the planet. I almost wanted Blake, Michele and Daniel to just run away together and be cute bad blood family forever, seriously so cute. Don’t underestimate your need for tissues here people, don’t do it.

The best part of this book though had to be the underlying secrets that Daniel, Robert and Serena had been keeping since the start of the narrative. I was so drawn in by the inner lives of these characters and what their possible secret backstories could be that I felt my head was going to explode with the possibilities. Even though I knew a big reveal was coming, I never knew what it was or how it was going to tie everything together and that’s what kept me so interested. Truly, Thompson has done an incredible job here of story weaving. Just wonderful.

The romance between Daniel and Serena became much more fleshed out in this second book as well and it was wonderfully played out. I loved the subtly of it, the sweetness with the bracelet and how much the characters grew to understand one another. This quote is just the sweetest thing EVER 💕.

“I grabbed Serena’s hand as if I had the right to hold onto it forever, and she held mine as though she wished that were true.”

The only reason I didn’t give this book 5 stars, even though I really really liked it was simply because there were still a few things I felt a little nit picky about. While I liked Serena’s character as a whole, it was still hard to relate to her at times. Daniel, I loved. But Serena sometimes did things that didn’t make sense, like it didn’t quite compute why she had to go to The Highlands and play dress-up when in the end it was really Daniel’s story that made more of a difference. Plus, *spoilers* it made no sense that she would turn in Montana and Ida because she was afraid of them only to run off with Robert who was soaked in blood on her front doorstep, cause that’s not frightening at all. And to be honest I found it really hard to believe that Daniel would forgive her so quickly for all of that given just how much her one decision affected his entire life. But, love is about forgiveness and learning to move past the past, right?

Also *possible spoilers*, I really wanted Robert to come back and reconcile with Daniel. After everything that happened and with everyone knowing, I thought they would be together at the end, that was super bittersweet. In the end I felt like he was the real loser of it all *cries forever*.

Overall this was such a wonderful duology. The characters developed beautifully and even though I wished I could’ve known more about their endings I am happy I got to spend the time in their world that I did.

Everyone please go head over to Miss Thompson’s blog and take a look at the Bad Blood Duology and at her other works as well. I haven’t had the pleasure of reading the others yet but she is such a kind and sweet person and I’m so happy to have gotten the opportunity to read and review these for her.

5 thoughts on “Review: November Snow

Leave a Reply

