Review: Stealer

30068863

Title: Stealer
Series: Stealer Series #1
Author: A.M. Yates
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy
Links: Goodreads / Amazon / B&N

SynopsisHome alone over spring break, Dee looks forward to a week free from worries about her sliding grades, her lack of friends, and her mom’s overbearing boyfriend. But when she chases a thief out of her house, she ends up with a whole new set of troubles . . . in a whole new world. The Crescent. Where everyday objects possess extraordinary power. Where countless other worlds are mere steps away. And where the High Minister has a plan for a greater future . . . that Dee really didn’t mean to screw up. Really. Pursued by masked hunters, all Dee wants is to get back home again. Yet her every move only entangles her deeper in the fantastic and dangerous new world of the Crescent.

Rating: ★★★★
Review:

“Don’t feed the wolves. Never feed the wolves.”

I always love when I find a new book that surprises me in a way I never expected it to. I’ll be completely honest when I say that a lot of the time I chose books based solely off of their covers so Stealer snagged my eye pretty quickly, I mean look at that beautiful cover work. But this was absolutely a case where the beauty was not just on the outside.

The worldbuilding in this book was wonderful. I was completely captivated with the language and vivid imagery that Yates chose to use to describe everything in The Crescent and she somehow found a way of detailing just enough to make a mental picture without making me feel exhausted with over explanation. I felt I knew plenty to keep ahold of what was going on and where I was as far as location, but there was still a mystery that made me feel like Dee did, an outsider who was just starting to belong in this new place.

Speaking of Dee, what a great main character. She was so funny and easily likable that it wasn’t hard to get into her narrative headspace. I also liked the fact that she wasn’t your “typical” hot looking main character, being more on the tall gangly side with curly hair, that was a nice differential to the usual. It was nice to have a character that stayed true to their original personality through the entire book, she was a headstrong yet compassionate character and all those little pop culture references were great. I personally loved the “Darth Accountant” one and this one,

“I’m not about to end up like Dorothy skipping around Oz looking for the wizard. I don’t do musicals.”

My other favorite character had to be Dusk, he was so adorable and yet awesome at the same time *small spoiler* he better come back for the next book cause if not I will be so sad forever! * He was just so great with Crystal and Dee, trying to help them understand everything while he was dealing with so much himself. And in my opinion his abilities are the most amazing. Also, I am completely on board for the potential romance between him and Crystal if that is where the book was going, but she needs to take a serious chill pill and stop being such a control freak. She mellowed out a little near the end, but I’m curious to see how much further everyone has to go.

While I’m on the romance track I guess I can talk about the Verge/Dee/Hunter triangle that  sort of happens in this book. It’s the main reason I gave this book 4 stars instead of 5. While I liked each of these characters individually and Verge is hilarious as an individual character and I’m SOOO curious to know more about Hunter and his past/how he connects to Dee, I am not interested in Dee becoming Hunter’s love interest. That being said, I know it’s going to happen.

*spoilers* With them being blood-bonded and connected the way they are you can completely see that they are headed for some seriously tortured romance. But I’m just not a fan of romances that start out with two people trying to murder each other. That just doesn’t mesh for me. Of course, I ended up loving Juliette & Warner in Shatter Me, so I reserve all judgements until later books.*

I’m actually rooting for Verge on this one even though at this point their relationship is more of a casual fling sort of deal. Even though he didn’t appear much in the first book, except at the male version of a damsel in distress, I really liked when he did appear and hope he shows up more in the second book.

And my only other note was that I wish we could’ve known more about Dee’s father, there was so little of him and he seemed like such an important piece to the whole puzzle. Maybe there will be more about him later…

Overall, this was an exciting and fast-paced read that kept me completely engaged and entranced from beginning to end. I’m really looking forward to the next installment so I can learn more about the world and the characters.

*I received an Advanced Review Copy of this book through NetGalley from Patchwork Press – Cooperative in exchange for an honest review*

One thought on “Review: Stealer

Leave a Reply

