Review: What We’ll Do For Blood

cover-art-dummy-left-top-focus-1500x2400-with-guides-d1-title-2-sketch-3-small-merged

Title: What We’ll Do For Blood
Series: The Almost Human Series #1
Author: C.L. Mannarino
Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal
Links: Goodreads / Amazon

SynopsisOne night, Scott catches his father’s beautiful colleague, Maria, drinking his father’s blood in their office parking lot. When his father has no recollection of this event, and gets weaker the more he spends time with Maria, Scott turns to his mother and sister for help.

When he realizes that Maria has captured their hearts and minds, as well, Scott has to find a way to believe in himself, and become more than anyone thought he was capable of, in order to stop her. But what will it cost him?

Rating: ★★★☆☆
Review:

First off I want to thank the author for contacting me and asking me if I would review this book for her. I always appreciate the opportunity to review an author’s work personally so I am grateful to receive the chance to do so.

Secondly I would like to say that while in this particular instance this book did not WOW me per-se, I know there are many people out there that would likely love this book so I’m going to highlight some of the really great things about it.

The diversity for one. Most of the main characters in this book are African-American (if I’m understanding the narrative correctly) and the setting is actually right before 1990 so I was enjoying reading something from a little different perspective. Now, there are no plots in the book involving race or anything but I know a lot of readers are looking for “diverse” books that have characters that aren’t exclusively white and so I think this would definitely be a good choice. Another interesting note is that the titular character, Scott, is described as being somewhat pudgy even though his girlfriend is obviously attractive, which is not a narrative I’ve seen used very often. I commend the author for being willing to write a-typical characters and to write them well.

I also liked that there was only one main arc for this first book so that it didn’t feel too overly cluttered or bogged down with multiple plot threads or character arcs to follow. It was nice only having to really follow Scott and how he kept getting more and more isolated from everyone as his panic over Maria grew. And tied in with that was the great pacing that made the book such a fast read for me and kept me on the edge of my toes wondering how everything was going to end up for the characters.

My only complaints that dropped the rating down to three were that the language was a bit too crude for my taste and there were some fairly violent moments in the book that I felt bordered on grotesque. I’m someone who gets mental pictures when I read and so when the scenes become more disturbing it’s hard for me to enjoy the book. It definitely upped the feeling of the book as a paranormal/thriller though.

Overall this was an easy, fast paced read that was fun to sit down and enjoy. I was excited to see some more intricate characters and an older setting as well and I am intrigued as to where the author will go with the next book in the series.

*A very big thank you to Ms. Mannarino for generously allowing me the opportunity to read and review her book! I would recommend everyone to go and take a look at her website. Just click the text here to take a look and thank you all for reading!

3 thoughts on “Review: What We’ll Do For Blood

Leave a Reply

