Review: Seconds Before Sunrise

sbscover

Title: Seconds Before Sunrise
Series: The Timely Death Trilogy #2
Author: Shannon A. Thompson
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Urban Fantasy
Links: Goodreads / Amazon / B&N

SynopsisTwo nightmares. One memory.

Eric has weeks before his final battle when he’s in an accident. Forced to face his human side, he knows he can’t survive if he fights alone. But he doesn’t want to surrender, even if he becomes the sacrifice for war.

Jessica’s memory isn’t the only thing she’s lost. Her desire to find her parents is gone and so is her confidence. But when fate leaves nightmares behind, she decides to find the boy she sees in them, even if it risks her sanity.

Rating: ★★★★☆
Review:

*I received a free e-copy of this book from the author, but this in no way affects my honest opinion*

“No one knew whether events in our everday lives were preordained. We had either little control or none.”

I am honestly surprised at how quickly I got through this book. It took me so long to get to reading this series and I can honestly say it has not disappointed now that I’ve gotten the chance to sit down and really enjoy it. I just finished the first book two days ago and this one yesterday and now I can’t even wait to get to the end, although I will admit to being a little sad I’ve reached the end already, but isn’t that always how you feel as an avid reader?

The story picks up right where it left off from the last book and I will say I’m quite pleased with how Miss Thompson handled the whole memory wipe situation. Many times authors will just cop out and give the characters their memories back pretty quickly because it’s hard to have a main character go through practically the same experiences as they did in the first novel without the book getting repetitive…but that didn’t happen at all. Miss Thompson managed to keep her characters fresh with the use of that dual POV that I enjoyed so much in the first book which helped keep me balanced in knowing what was going on with the main plot through Eric’s eyes while still being focused on all the confusion that Jessica was experiencing.

The added dimension of the memory loss, along with other added stressors like Zac (who gives me the serious creeps😣) also helped to strengthen the relationship dynamic between the two main characters, Jessica and Eric. Although I probably could’ve done without the super cheesy black box scenario, especially considering their age and all…I still really loved their chemistry throughout the book. Eric’s caring nature towards Jessica and what he did for her after the situation that happened with Robb just completely warmed my heart. I always love it when an author is willing to spend time on the little moments in two characters relationship and not the huge love declarations.

The side characters got more development as well in this second book. Crystal, for example, finally started to grow on me when she became closer to Jessica and started really caring about her friends feelings, and I really felt bad for her with the whole Zac situation. And speaking of that guy, like I said before, he just gives me the creeps overtime he shows up on the page and I’m glad that Jessica seems to agree, haha.

That is the beauty of Thompson’s writing, she has the ability to describe a characters emotions in such a way as if you felt you were experiencing them yourself. Either that, or I just get too connected to the books I read…😉

The powers and prophecy were expanded on much more in this book as well and I’m looking forward to the final reveal of Darthon as I head into the last book!

Overall I’m so glad I am finally taking the time to really absorb this wonderful series. This second book expanded on so many things I hoped it would, the characters grew and matured and I have no doubt I’m going to enjoy the next book!

Extra – Come discuss your thoughts about the book in the comments with me if you want, I always love to chat!

Also, I encourage everyone to go check out Miss Thompson’s site and her other books as well. You won’t be disappointed!

*A giant thank you to Shannon A. Thompson for gifting me this book and having immense patience because it took me months to get to reading it even though I really wanted to read it sooner (you are just the sweetest!)

One thought on “Review: Seconds Before Sunrise

Leave a Reply

