Virtual Book Tour Review : All Her Secrets

allhersecrets

Title: All Her Secrets
Author: Kate Avery Ellison
Genre: Young Adult, Psychological Thriller
Release Date: October 18th, 2016
Links: Goodreads / Amazon / B&N / Kobo 

Synopsis: A GIRL WITH SECRETS

Eighteen-year-old Victoria, the daughter of inventor and visionary-genius Bill Faraday, was almost murdered by a stranger four years ago. She’s been trying to forget the incident ever since. When Victoria discovers something that might explain why she was brutally attacked, she heads home from college to uncover the truth. Then, she’s kidnapped.

A GUY FROM THE WRONG SIDE OF THE TRACKS

Sam’s just a poor kid from Valley City, but he knows who Victoria is as soon as his cousin Craig drags her from the trees. He doesn’t want anything to do with what appears to be a revenge kidnapping, but Craig has a gun and needs someone to take the fall if things go wrong.

A DESPERATE PLAN TO SURVIVE

Craig and his buddies imprison Sam and Victoria in an abandoned mountain cabin to await ransom. Putting aside mistrust for tentative friendship, Victoria and Sam conspire to escape together, and the close quarters ignite a startling attraction between them. Then they discover strange tunnels beneath the cabin. And what they find inside the tunnels proves more bizarre. With a plan in place to escape, freedom seems within reach. But Sam and Victoria are both keeping secrets about their past.

And secrets can be deadly.

Rating: ★★★★☆
Review:

*I received an e-ARC of this book through Barclay Publicity in exchange for an honest review as part of a virtual book tour*

“I was blind to the truth. Emotions do that. They make you a fool.”

I am so excited to be doing my first Virtual Book Tour post on this blog! And many thanks to Barclay Publicity and Kate Avery Ellison for giving me the opportunity to read and review this book as part of the tour! On to the review…

I don’t read a lot of thriller novels, probably because I’m a giant chicken in real life. I’m still afraid of the dark and when someone comes around a corner too quickly, I jump out of my skin…but for some crazy reason I really wanted to read this book. When I put in the request to do the book tour I was almost apprehensive that I wouldn’t like it simply because this genre wasn’t in my wheelhouse, but ironically that wasn’t the case AT ALL.

My favorite thing about this book has to be the pacing, the reason why thrillers haven’t been able to ever pull me in before was that they took too long to really drag me into the action or make me feel like the characters were in real peril. This book doesn’t do that. Right away there is a real sense of foreboding that sticks around through the whole book and I ended up speeding through it in one day simply because I HAD TO KNOW what was going to happen with the characters!! That niggling feeling the author was able to add of constant paranoia and fear through using the double POV was brilliant and I liked that the chapters were short and concise, making everything feel more desperate.

Victoria and Sam were great characters, and like I said above, the dual POV really worked here, using their dueling narratives to help me really get centered in the plot and how exactly everything was unfolding from each character’s perspectives. I also enjoyed that the author didn’t get bogged down with too much backstory in the beginning and chose to slowly unveil things as the story went on. That was a smart move when it came to the whole “secrets” idea that runs deep in the book. There are times when I don’t like books because I can’t visualize a character or a place if there isn’t enough information, but Ellison did a great job of giving just enough information to keep the setting alive, while leaving details out so I was hungry for more.

(potential spoilers) I was also pleasantly surprised at elements I did not expect to be there. I knew the book was supposed to be set in our not-so-distant-future, but some of the ideas like robotic technology and the concept of a utopian society gone wrong were executed wonderfully. I especially enjoyed the idea of a “secret narrator”, which only helped to increase the suspense and mystery.

Honestly the only thing that made me give the book 4 stars instead of 5 was the ending. I just felt that after so much tension and build up over the book the ending was very rushed and abrupt. Especially considering that there doesn’t seem to be a sequel in the works, which makes sense, but I would’ve liked to have known more about how the different characters stories unfolded after everything they went through.

Needless to say I am very I happy that I got to experience this book and I would recommend it to anyone who wants an excellent, fast-paced thriller that will get your blood pumping and your mind spinning!

Rafflecopter for All Her Secrets Virtual Blog Tour Giveaway 🎉 :

Kate Avery Ellison is offering one (1) lucky winner a $25 Amzon Gift Card and five (5) runner-ups an eCopy of one of her books (winner’s choice)! To enter, simply click this link below!

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/b050ef29286/?

About the Author:

kateaveryellison

Kate Avery Ellison decided she wanted to be an author when she was five years old, and with hard work, determination, and the support of loved ones along the way, her dreams of telling stories for a living came true in 2011 with her first novel, The Curse Girl, and continued with her Amazon bestselling series The Frost Chronicles and numerous other fantasy and science fiction novels. She loves putting a dash of mystery in everything she writes, an ode to her childhood spent reading Nancy Drew, Agatha Christie, and Sherlock Holmes, and she can’t resist adding a good twist in the story wherever she can.

Kate wishes she could live in a place where it’s always October, but until that’s possible, she makes her home in humid Atlanta with her husband, son, and two spoiled cats. When she isn’t dreaming up her next novel or holed up writing it down, Kate can be found binging her favorite shows on Netflix, reading on her Kindle, building intricate train track configurations with her toddler, and playing board games with her husband and friends.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Amazon

Last Thoughts: Thanks to everyone who read this review! Please feel free to drop by the blog and comment on what you think about the book after you read it so we can all discuss!!

Leave a Reply

