Blog Tour Review: True North

9781633755956
Series
: True Born Trilogy #2
Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopian
Links: Goodreads / Amazon / Publisher

Synopsis: Abandoned by her family in Plague-ridden Dominion City, eighteen-year-old Lucy Fox has no choice but to rely upon the kindness of the True Borns, a renegade group of genetically enhanced humans, to save her twin sister, Margot. But Nolan Storm, their mysterious leader, has his own agenda. When Storm backtracks on his promise to rescue Margot, Lucy takes her fate into her own hands and sets off for Russia with her True Born bodyguard and maybe-something-more, the lethal yet beautiful Jared Price. In Russia, there’s been whispered rumors of Plague Cure.

While Lucy fights her magnetic attraction to Jared, anxious that his loyalty to Storm will hurt her chances of finding her sister, they quickly discover that not all is as it appears…and discovering the secrets contained in the Fox sisters’ blood before they wind up dead is just the beginning.??

As they say in Dominion, sometimes it’s not you…it’s your DNA.

Rating: ★★★★☆

Review:

*I received an e-ARC of this book through NetGalley from Entangled Publishing as part of a blog tour in exchange for an honest review*

“I am small but deadly. I am relentless. I’ll not stop until my questions have answers.”

So I’ll admit that it’s been awhile since I read the first book in this series and because of that I had a hard time getting the feel of the second one. That being said, I really did enjoy the second book even though it took me a few chapters to get into the flow.

The book moves along at a really nice pace. I know some people were saying it drags in the beginning but I disagree, I’m one of those readers who really enjoys lots of extra set up and information so it ways nice to get that this time around because I do remember feeling like I missed out on some key character and story ideas last time.

Also I was glad that this book focused so much more on Lucy and how she’s struggling with becoming her own person outside of Margot. I grew to like her more over the book, although she could be a little whiny at times.

The main relationship in this book still doesn’t thrill me a whole lot, while I don’t hate Lucy and Jared’s romance, I’m not a big fan of it either. My biggest peeve with them is that the only time they seem to not be at each other’s throats is when they’re doing something sexual and in my humble opinion that’s not what love really is. They should have more ability to be around each other normally and get along than just Jared feeling murderous whenever Lucy is in danger (plus his weird animalistic pull towards her he can’t control) and her being unable to focus when he is close. Although I will admit to laughing at the whole “Jared doesn’t like water” bit, that was cute.

Secretly I kind of want Alastair and Lucy to be a thing, but I know that’s a huge pipe dream, maybe I can get on board for him and Margot because something tells me that’s the direction the books are going to go. I mean honestly, that comment he made in the train car to Lucy, just perfect ❤️. If Alastair had his own spinoff book I don’t think I would even mind, and that’s a funny thing considering that he wasn’t even in this book all that much but his character was just so charming I couldn’t help but like him.

But…getting back the rest of the book, Resnikov and Lucy’s parents are still totally horrible and it was so creepy with everything that was discovered in the end. But the kind of creepy that makes you intrigued, like the covers to this series, I’m just sitting there like “ooo where is this going…” the whole time. And yet still after all the reveals in the last few chapters there is still so much to be found out, especially in regards to Margot and I’m so curious what Storm’s endgame is in this whole series. All of his playing around with Lucy in the Upper Circle was some great stuff, I definitely want more of that.

So overall I’m really looking forward to how this trilogy will wind down in the end and I’m super happy that I got the chance to continue reading this series because this second book really brought a lot more to the table as far as character depth and plot goes. Kudos to the author for being able to weave everything together so well and make her characters interesting as individuals and not just convenient archetypes for the story. Now by the time the last book comes out I will probably forget the plot of this book all over again like the first book…let’s cross our fingers and hope not 🤞😉

Reviews of the True Born Trilogy:

#1 – True Born

One thought on “Blog Tour Review: True North

Leave a Reply

