2021 Reviews, Reviews, YA - Fantasy, YA - Series, Young Adult

Review: Odriel’s Heirs

Rating: ★★★★★

Review:

“But what did you do when your best wasn’t good enough?”

This book reads like a fantasy movie put to pages. Between the depth of the world-building, intensity of the story and emotional pull of the characters, I was hooked from the start.

This is a vibrant, incredible world the author has created, with such richness just begging to be explored. In ways I wish the book was lengthened at certain points because I want to know more about these places, the creatures, the magic and the atmosphere that lives inside this story. It almost would’ve been nice to stop Kaia’s journey at a different point so that further details could be fleshed out. Although the author is going for more of an epic fantasy, I think extending Kaia and Klaus’s journey out to one more book may have helped as there was a lot of traveling and action that was condensed into a shorter period that I would have loved to explore more. Now I may be a little biased because I loved the characters so much I just didn’t want to part with them yet.

As for Kaia and Klaus themselves, their romance was such a perfectly done slow-burn. Their feelings and connection form so naturally it’s effortless and by the time they get together it’s evident they’re meant for each other. The bantering back and forth between them created such a cute dynamic and I loved how they were able to balance and rely on one another. Plus, it was nice having a romance that put a focus on the two of them forming that emotional bond, not simply having sexual attraction which so many books like to do now. Individually they were characters I respected, which honestly isn’t something I generally say about book characters but the actions of these two and the way they behaved, taking steps to grow, learn and push forward amidst insurmountable odds was admirable. The growth they showed from the flashbacks we see of their youth and over the course of the story show their determination and inner-strength. And their combination of humor, vulnerability and resilience is what helped to make them so relatable.

“It’s like they say, “The Dragon Heir walks through fire alone.”

Except when you walk with me,” Klaus countered”

The side characters of this book were equally as wonderful, or terrible if you’re considering the villains. While the villains weren’t given as much background as the other characters, that didn’t bother me as much. Especially since I believe there is a bigger overarching narrative to this series, I wasn’t as concerned with knowing too many minute details about the villains and inner-workings since I’m assuming more will be revealed in further books, which by the end definitely appeared to be the case. As for the other characters Kaia and Klaus encountered, they were all so amazing. Honestly the author could probably write side stories for each of them and I would be just as happy. That’s one of the best features of this book is that each character has a life of their own, none of them are just stick figures in the background who seemingly serve no purpose. You get connected to each of them just as Kaia and Klaus are.

So with that, let’s talk about one of my favorite side characters, Gus. I love Gus to pieces, don’t get me wrong and the moment near the end of the book about broke my heart but I will admit that for most of the book it felt like he didn’t serve much of a purpose. In the beginning it was stated that ragehounds were companions that helped the Dragon Heir and we see that in one particular way near the beginning. However, that function ends pretty quickly and then he’s mostly an emotional support hound after that. Now I’m not saying their relationship isn’t precious but I feel like Gus should’ve just been her companion from the start because once his purpose was over then it seemed like he became unnecessary to helping the Heirs fulfill their mission. Also, I get what some other reviewers talked about with not understanding Gus’s remarks because I had the same problem. I too was trying to figure out if they were speaking telepathically, audibly or if she was simply inferring this as what he was saying (ala Kristoff and Sven in Frozen). Seems like that’s more the case as it isn’t italicized which is common for telepathy, or in quotations which means speech so it’s probably Kaia implying speech based on Gus’s body language but that would’ve been nice to have spelled out so we could’ve understood it. He was such a sweet hound though and I wouldn’t change their dynamic, simply wish there was more clarification on those points.

Overall this was such a surprising read. I sped through it in two days because I couldn’t put it down. The world pulls you in and the characters keep you coming back for more. The writing is descriptive, engaging and I can’t wait to see what the author brings in the next installment! I recommend this to anyone looking for a sweeping fantasy tale that has it all, action, clean romance and humor all wrapped up into a highly entertaining package.

– I voluntarily read and reviewed an e-copy of this book I received for free from the author. All thoughts and opinions are my own. –

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult

Author: Hayley Reese Chow

LinksGoodreads / Amazon

Synopsis:

The brave, burning with fire, harnessed the Dragon’s Rage….

As the Dragon Heir, seventeen-year-old Kaia inherited the power of flame to protect her homeland from a godlike necromancer’s undead army. But after centuries of peace, the necromancer has faded to myth, and the Dragon Heir is feared by the people. Persecuted and cast out, Kaia struggles to embrace and control her seemingly useless gift while confined to her family’s farm.

But when the necromancer’s undead terrorize the land once again, Kaia runs away to join the battle.

With the help of her childhood rival, the handsome Shadow Heir, and a snarky, cursed cat, Kaia must figure out how to control both her fire and her confidence in time to save Okarria. If she fails, she will sacrifice her family, her new friends, and the enchanting world she has only just begun to see.

And time is running out.

Leave a comment